Try To Be Somebody

Thanks for the inspiration, Ax

Alexa Merrill

On Monday, November 16, 1863, a fourteen year old in Rising Sun, Indiana began a journal that would allow her family, and many others a glimpse into her life that would never have been seen any other way. Living during the height of the Civil War, this girl wrote in her beloved journal almost everyday for nearly two years, with her entries consisting of music lessons, the weather, Aunt Lime’s birthday, and the death of President Lincoln: all significant parts of her life.

This fourteen year old girl was Alice Thorn, and she is my cousin.

The very first page of her journal, Alice wrote, “Try to be somebody.”
In four words, this young girl that I have never met has inspired me. Inspired me to become someone, someone to be proud of. Someone worth knowing about in the future, when my descendants are searching my journal. I want to…

View original post 17 more words

Leave a Reply

