Provo Center Street Onramp is Dangerous! (Deathtrap?) #Provo

Mayor Curtis: I double-dog dare you to post this or discuss this on your blog… perhaps with your Provo on Instagram postings? How can you help us get attention to this dangerous intersection!??

Another Accident at the Provo, Utah Center Street I-15 Interchange
This accident on Northbound Center Street in Provo just before the I-15 onramp clearly ruined several people’s Fourth of July celebrations, occurring about 10am Saturday, July 5th.

The fact is that the I-15 Provo Center Street Interchange is dangerous.  It’s a deathtrap! If there haven’t been deaths there, it’s just a matter of time.  There seems to be an accident there ONCE A MONTH OR MORE. (Who has statistics on dangerous intersections in the state??) I know the i-15 core project touts the beauty and functionality of this intersection and, one who uses it daily, I admit it’s better that what we had, but there are three remaining facts that MUST be addressed:

  • Drivers exiting I-15 (Southbound) or entering I-15 from Provo Center Street (Northbound) drive WAY TOO FAST.
  • Taking the U-turn from Northbound Center to Southbound I-15 is still dangerous because there is no merging lane.
  • Traffic from all directions is still inhibited by confused or stressed drivers who are trying to navigate a complicated and non-standard set of interchanges.

I recommend at least the following if not additional changes to be added to this interchange immediately:Radar Speed Sign

  • Rumble strips as you exit I-15 Southbound and perhaps Northbound reminding drivers they are no longer/not yet on the interstate.  I am confident drivers cruise through the green light at the bottom of the offramp headed to Central Provo at easily 80 miles per hour.
  • Flashing “YOUR SPEED” radar signs reminding drivers of their speed versus the speed limit (which is NOT clearly posted).
  • Better signage including blinking “STOP AHEAD” signs when the lights will be red so cars can slow down way before coming to the intersection. Perhaps even “Dangerous Intersection Ahead” signs to clue people in to taking the extra 3 seconds to make smart driving decisions.

It’s clear that drivers do not respect the complexity of this intersection.  I-15, UDOT and even Provo need to do more to make drivers aware of the dangers of this particular intersection, which just gets busier and busier. A few radical ideas?

  1. A digital count of accidents and even deaths which have occurred at this intersection this year.
  2. Changeable digital signage over the roadway with messages such as “dangerous intersection ahead” and “exercise caution and obey all signage”
  3. What else?

READER: Do you find the Provo Center Street I-15 interchange dangerous? What are your thoughts?? Provo Mayor Curtis, how can you help us get UDOT’s attention to this dangerous intersection??

3 thoughts on “Provo Center Street Onramp is Dangerous! (Deathtrap?) #Provo

  1. In my opinion, the two biggest mistakes in Utah History (Sarcasm) were the Provo Center Street interchange and the Spanish Fork Highway 6 interchange. I just don’t get either of them and yes, they both have extremely dangerous issues with them! (Highway 6 exit is a very sharp turn that have people going nearly freeway speeds. I have seen several truck tipped over there. Way to speak up Robert!

  2. I can see your point, I have exited southbound on that off-ramp at freeway speed. I don’t use that intersection very often, I normally use the University Ave exit, but the intersection is much better than it was. And in my opinion the worst intersection in the state, nation, and possibly the world is 12300 S in Draper.

Leave a Reply

