25 Things Dads Need to Do for their Daughters #fathersday

Image

On this Father’s Day, I thought to share this great post by Tara Hedman called “What Little Girls Wish Daddies Knew“, but I am so glad I found it.  It reminds me of a book I’ve read, “Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters — 10 Secrets Every Father Should Know” by Meg Meeker (a blunt, sobering book about the manly leadership that dads need to give to their daughters in this world these days). 

If you’re a dad and have daughters, or if you know a guy with girls in his life, this is worth stopping and thinking about… and tucking aside and reviewing on a regular basis. 

…She’s probably four years old. So little, so vulnerable. She doesn’t seem concerned about it as she sings about teapots and ladybugs in her black Mary Janes. I feel myself tear up as I watch her. I tear up as I watch him watch her. She could not possibly know at four what impact this man, his character, or his words will have on her for years to come. And, maybe he doesn’t know either.

So, to all the daddies with little girls who aren’t old enough yet to ask for what they need from you, here is what we wish you knew:

See the 25 things Tara wants daddies to know at http://tarahedman.com/girls-daddies-knew/

I haven’t always been the best dad or father or husband. I am not foolish enough to think I have the right answers or the best execution of the things I do know, but I know that I love my daughters and as they are growing up, I am amazed at their creativity, their brilliance, their godliness, their passion, and intensity.  

It’s a good day when I hear their laughter. It’s the hardest thing for my heart when I feel their sorrow and hear their tears.

I want nothing but sunshine and flowers for them in their life and I hope I can help with that, even just a little–God willing.

Leave a Reply

