Trust God

The bible never once says, "Figure it out." But over and over it says, "Trust God." He's already got it all figured out.
The bible never once says, “Figure it out.” But over and over it says, “Trust God.” He’s already got it all figured out.

I’ve been thinking a lot about trusting God. It’s a pretty tall order to face all the trials of life and then expect that a being I’ve never physically seen, that is supreme and omnipotent, has enough interest in me to be involved in assisting me in allowing good things to happen.

Yet, I have to say without hesitation that I know He does care for me enough to be concerned about my insignificant problems (that to me are monumentally hard). And, even more especially, I know that He loves and cares for my family as well and is laying the groundwork of success at their feet even more, perhaps, than my own.

Alma (younger) notes to his son Helaman:

I do know that whosoever shall put their trust in God shall be supported in their trials, and their troubles, and their afflictions, and shall be lifted up at the last day.# Alma 36:3, Book of Mormon

To me, this is especially interesting of a passage to Helaman, the son who would eventually serve as the High Priest over the land and who’s grandson, though at the time unbeknownst to him, would welcome the Savior to the land after His resurrection and ascension in the old world.

This, not to his wayward son but his more-righteous one, this advice tells something of the trial and test of being righteous as opposed to the consequences of a life of sin and rebellion. Perhaps, this message is intended to express–not to the rebellious ones, but to those trying to life solid, Christian lives–that doing good is hard sometimes, not always a pleasure. And, sometimes, it’s a joy with little measure… at least in the moment.  Yet, I can safely say that no matter how downtrodden you might feel at times, getting up early to get to a meeting, or going out late to help someone in need, the blessings of a life driven by love and service far outweigh and outlast any other lifestyle I have ever seen.

Faithful people have a right to be happy.  There’s something solid about being able to say with assurance, “I’ve been where I said I would be. I’ve done what I said I would do.” If I can truly say that about my life, the rest I can put safely in God’s hands knowing he can do more with it than I ever could on my own.

Marvin J. Ashton once relayed a quote of N. Eldon Tanner when he would comment on how to accomplish hard things: “All we have to do is what is right.” to which he added, “Thank the Lord that he believes in doing that which is right, rather than that which is only expedient.” #

I believe in God. I believe that he is and that his wisdom is far greater than my own. I have confidence and faith in that, and hope I can always stay true to that feeling in my heart.

Leave a Reply

