What's the New Blogging?

So, 5 years ago, everyone was blogging.

Then tweeting. #whatwasthatanyway #nowanybodycanhashtag

Now everything is “facebook likes” and “pin my awesome picture on pinterest (so your friends are more jealous of your online lifestyle that doesn’t really exist)”.

I think I’m ready to blog again (maybe) but not sure the blog is the right place to do this.  What’s the “new” blogging?

  • Emil newsletters like TinyLetter?
  • Private social networks?
  • LinkedIn Groups?

Joel Cheesman and Jason Alba –what do you think? (comments here, please)

6 thoughts on “What's the New Blogging?

  1. Robert, thanks for this post and inviting me to comment. This evolution has been frustrating to watch and live over the years.

    As you know I’ve blogged for over 6 years, and have maintained multiple blogs. I currently maintain three of my own.

    I also wrote a book on LinkedIn (I’m on LinkedIn – Now What???), coauthored a book on Facebook (I’m on Facebook – Now What???) and have done numerous live presentations, videos etc, on things like blogging, Twitter, etc.

    Six years ago I wanted comments on my posts. When social became bigger, the comments went away because people would “comment” about my post on Facebook, or Twitter, or elsewhere. It was messing everything up :p

    But I continued blogging… through all the social eruption.

    Or should I say distraction.

    I’ve seen Google not care about social posts (comments, walls, discussions, etc.) like they care about (or track) my posts. If I google certain keywords I find my posts from years ago, but never a tweet or discussion or wall post. The chatter that happened in social is… GONE.

    If I were to leave this comment on your FB page only a small handful of people would ever see it. I could not refer back to it, ever (especially years/months later). But on this post it lives forever (as long as your blog doesn’t go down). That’s really powerful. I continue to send people links to my posts that are years-old.

    What I’ve seen recently (in the last 18 months) is that people are getting really tired of all the places they “have to” be… LI, FB, Twitter were the Big Three. Oh but get on Google+ or you are a loser who is missing out! And Pinterest is better than them all! And what about ____ and ____ and ____!!!! It is just too much, and people don’t have time for it, nor do they have the energy.

    That’s why you see people “going dark,” or “taking a one month social fast.” It’s just too much.

    Where should you blog? On your blog. For years I’ve called my blog(s) the “anchor of my comprehensive social marketing strategy.” It continues to be. Even if I hit a grandslam elsewhere (like a LinkedIn Answers question) I’ll link to it from my blog, so it lives forever and can be accessed later.

    The next best place, right now (and this could change but I don’t see anything that is near good enough to be a close second) is LinkedIn Group Discussions. They don’t live forever, but you have a built-in audience that might care about what you are talking about (which bloggers don’t necessarily have)…

    Anyway, my two cents. Can’t wait to see where we’ll be in another six years 🙂

  2. Interesting, Jason. I wish there was a way to Facebook or google-plus-ify my blog so posts here were there but comments were in each place. The post posting cross-posting dance is cumbersome. :/

    The question, which it sounds like LinkedIn groups might answer somewhat for you, is how to build a more intimate albeit public relationship with your audience.

    Does LI do that for you because of your niche? Or is it bigger than that?

  3. I still think the blog is “the place” for many things, but LI Groups brings a lot of value (not just because of my audience). One thing they bring is a much bigger audience (depending on the size of the group), and a distribution mechanism (the way they send discussions out via email).

    I have continued to blog on 3 blogs and don’t regret it at all, but I complement it with other stuff, like LI Groups. We’ll see how long that lasts… 🙂

    (to answer the last question, I definitely think “it’s bigger than that.”)

  4. I do think the blog is the authoritarive location for things. Like my excellent prose and stinging social commentary (lol). Yet much if the web today is fleeting and changeable and literally, like newsprint, the virtual version of “tomorrow’s fish wrap”.

    I’ll be honest, I ran across someone who professed being an “active blogger” and I realized I haven’t “blog searched” a candidate in, literally, years.

    Interesting.
    Interesting.

  5. The answer to the question is an individual one. It depends entirely on your content and your audience.
    Some bloggers who are extremely active, but blog mostly short pieces, have switched entirely to Facebook. Some have never left their original blogs, but use their facebook and blog sites in a highly coordinated manner.
    Good blogging is rarely a single site function anymore. Nor is it the single post method of old. The use of social media to coordinate your blogging with updates in a single united front is the “new blogging” and it’s more about a consistent brand and story running across the days and hours than it is about a single post or place.
    It’s only about where in the sense of which where fits the communication need. Some of the most successful blogs are in the exact same place they were 5 years ago. They have added more external touch points, and the frequency of their smaller communications has increased.
    Now, one may think that I’m confusing blogging with social media. But I would contend that it is a mistake to try to separate them. Blog where you want, just make sure it is easy for your audience to access.

    1. Good blogging is rarely a single site function anymore. Nor is it the single post method of old. The use of social media to coordinate your blogging with updates in a single united front is the “new blogging” and it’s more about a consistent brand and story running across the days and hours than it is about a single post or place.

      I like that, Cannon. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

