I Will Write Peace On Your Wings

cranes_3

In quiet moments, this morning, I thought to myself that life resembles nature so much. People come in, and stay, and leave from our lives like the waves of the ocean, or like birds in flight, leaving marks upon our hearts which leave us never, quite the same.

I admit I am emotional today thinking about all the love and peace and joy that I have experienced, and that in my life right now. Love that I once thought I had lost forever. Love that I worried I might never find in a lifetime of lives—love that came not through romantic laughter and candlelit dinners, but through hard work, persistence, heartache and sacrifice. Love that has been crafted personally for me by the Master’s hand.

Japanese tradition states that wishes of peace and happiness will come to anyone who folds 1,000 paper cranes.

The story of Sadako Sasaki, a twelve year old girl who was a mile from Ground Zero when the Hiroshima Atomic Bomb was dropped, tells us she did her best to painstakingly fold as many paper cranes as she could before she died of cancer—brought on by the atomic radiation she encountered that fateful day, August 6, 1945.

Artists Chandler O’Leary and Jessica Spring recently made an incredible letterpress broadside honoring Sasaki’s end-of-life plea for peace, commemorating Memorial Day here in the United States, with an eye (and heart) toward Japan’s recent Earthquake and Tsunami disaster.

Today our eyes and hearts are trained on the far shores of the Pacific, where the people of Japan are still reeling from the March 11 earthquake, tsunami and nuclear disaster. So for our twelfth Dead Feminist broadside, we remember them by giving wings to the words of our youngest-ever feminist [in their femenist’s broadside series], Sadako Sasaki:

"I will write peace on your wings and you will fly all over the world."

#

cranes_1

Etc:

Leave a Reply

