Picasa Photos Need Easier Sharing #wishwed

Picasa is ‘s great photo editing and sharing app.  It makes ridiculously quick work out of acquiring images from your camera, sorting them, letting you crop/edit/touch them up, and share them by email or post on-line or blog.

image

But in our world where "my computer" is giving way to not only multiple computers (desktop, notebook, netbook), but multiple devices (smart phones, tablets, other connected devices), and multiple users per device, the simplicity of Picasa begins to fall down rapidly once you try to have multiple users share the same Picasa photos on either the same or different computers.

Zoli Erdos over at CloudAve writes a deeply technical article that will help advanced users be sure their Picasa instance works with all the others on a home network.

But, this is the age of the CLOUD. Google has always been the company that took our desktop stuff and made it cloud-able. They taught us that email, your calendar and your documents should follow you everywhere you go. Picasa, which was an acquisition, has made inroads into the Picasa web space and sharing photos with Buzz (if your friends use it), but there are still some issues I wish could be fixed:

  • Let me share a photo set with other Picasa users easily. I don’t want to have to upload them every time either. Just set-it-and-forget it.  When there’s an update, alert my friend to the new image, and just put it in their Picasa for them when they next look.  An intuitive option would be to let me select some photos and right-click/long-press the images and have a "share with…." flyout menu option show up.
  • Let me define groups of people for granular security. For example, public, friends, family, personal, etc.  I may have "work friends" or "golf buddies" I want to share photos with that would not find much interest in the photos I share with the other.  Likewise, a scanned photo of my wife’s great aunt might be of great interest with her own family, but it would lose relevance quickly traversing my side of the family tree, even though we’re all "family".
  • Why can’t android phones share images easier on Picasa? Really?
8 thoughts on “Picasa Photos Need Easier Sharing #wishwed

  1. Robert, one of the reasons I haven’t fully embraced Picasa, especially the web version, is the cost. I can get a Flickr Pro account for $25 a year. That beats hands down anything that Picasa Web has. There are also plugins that let me post right to Facebook, and one to post to Flickr (although it’s a little kludgy and not native, still relies on the Flickr Uploader.)nnI also like your suggestion on how to break up groups. iPhoto has something similar (and I think Picasa has it too) it’s called events. You can group photos by events, but I’m not sure about sharing events to a specific group of people. That would be a great feature too.

    1. @thomallen You’re right on Flickr being a better application for sharing. I still use mine, although some of the magic of Flickr from 5-8 years ago seems to be fading as instagram and others seem to be taking some of their users. Funny — you’d think Flickr would have been the first twitpic… they should have/could have pwnd that market.nnAnyway, the bummer is that I love me some picasa for getting images off my camera and editing/basic touch ups. …And, I can easilly attach things to an email and fire them off to @grandma and @grandpa quickly enough…. but it’s the online piece that just feels, well, off-center. It doesn’t jive well with the rest of the experience.nnIf I’m on one computer all the time with unlimited hard-drive space that will never crash, and I don’t want to share… I just want to look at my own lovely images–it’s perfect. Other than that, there’s things to be desired.

      1. I really like Instagram, and several others like it, the problem is they don’t provide gallery support. I want to see all my picture together or create a slideshow. Someday maybe.

  2. Robert, one of the reasons I haven’t fully embraced Picasa, especially the web version, is the cost. I can get a Flickr Pro account for $25 a year. That beats hands down anything that Picasa Web has. There are also plugins that let me post right to Facebook, and one to post to Flickr (although it’s a little kludgy and not native, still relies on the Flickr Uploader.)

    I also like your suggestion on how to break up groups. iPhoto has something similar (and I think Picasa has it too) it’s called events. You can group photos by events, but I’m not sure about sharing events to a specific group of people. That would be a great feature too.

    1. @thomallen You’re right on Flickr being a better application for sharing. I still use mine, although some of the magic of Flickr from 5-8 years ago seems to be fading as instagram and others seem to be taking some of their users. Funny — you’d think Flickr would have been the first twitpic… they should have/could have pwnd that market.

      Anyway, the bummer is that I love me some picasa for getting images off my camera and editing/basic touch ups. …And, I can easilly attach things to an email and fire them off to @grandma and @grandpa quickly enough…. but it’s the online piece that just feels, well, off-center. It doesn’t jive well with the rest of the experience.

      If I’m on one computer all the time with unlimited hard-drive space that will never crash, and I don’t want to share… I just want to look at my own lovely images–it’s perfect. Other than that, there’s things to be desired.

      1. I really like Instagram, and several others like it, the problem is they don’t provide gallery support. I want to see all my picture together or create a slideshow. Someday maybe.

Leave a Reply

