Items for the Google Tasks Wishlist

I posted the other day about Google Tasks.  Here is my running wishlist of things I would like to see added to the tool.  Please add your own suggestions in the comments!

  1. Collapse groups of tasks
    Indenting tasks to group them together is AWESOME.  Clicking the master task (most-left) and having all the sub-tasks check themselves off is awesome too.  Even moving the master tasks and having the others follow along is superb.  Now, please let me collapse or hide tasks underneath the master task! 🙂
  2. Share Tasks individually and as lists
    Help me liberate my tasks, please!
    I would like to share a list of tasks, and/or have the option to assign tasks to a certain person, with all parties able to view and edit and complete.
16 thoughts on “Items for the Google Tasks Wishlist

  1. Great Ideas, to that I add:3) Flags, tags and filters,Being able to categorize in to groups is great but I see a need to create a subgroup of related tasks from several groups by using a flag and/or tag. and to sort by tags and flags, etc.4) Reoccurring tasks,there are some tasks I repeat on a schedule once I have completed the task I want to automatically have a new task created according to the schedule.These are both features of outlook's tasks, which leads me to:5) sync with outlook tasks.

  2. Great Ideas, to that I add:3) Flags, tags and filters,Being able to categorize in to groups is great but I see a need to create a subgroup of related tasks from several groups by using a flag and/or tag. and to sort by tags and flags, etc.4) Reoccurring tasks,there are some tasks I repeat on a schedule once I have completed the task I want to automatically have a new task created according to the schedule.These are both features of outlook's tasks, which leads me to:5) sync with outlook tasks.

  3. Great ideas, Walt. The tags would let you organize things that may be related by subject, but not by time or importance. It would also allow you to organize things by project, assigner, subject, etc. After a day or two my task list gets VERY messy, and its hard to filter out the clutter and get back to “what is the NEXT thing I need to do for __(insert project)__ right now?”Now that you mention it, I would like a RANKING field, something I can put numbers/letters or whatever I like into it, and then sort the list by that field. This helps me know what to do NEXT when something is done.Also, I know this is crazy, but being able to “half-check” something to signify that it's in-progress would be cool. In the Franklin Covey world, this is “dotting” your checkbox to say it's not done, but you're waiting on something before you can move on.Allowing some more optional meta-data fields like this that can be shown/hidden and sorted-by would be quite awesome.

  4. Great ideas, Walt. The tags would let you organize things that may be related by subject, but not by time or importance. It would also allow you to organize things by project, assigner, subject, etc. After a day or two my task list gets VERY messy, and its hard to filter out the clutter and get back to “what is the NEXT thing I need to do for __(insert project)__ right now?”Now that you mention it, I would like a RANKING field, something I can put numbers/letters or whatever I like into it, and then sort the list by that field. This helps me know what to do NEXT when something is done.Also, I know this is crazy, but being able to “half-check” something to signify that it's in-progress would be cool. In the Franklin Covey world, this is “dotting” your checkbox to say it's not done, but you're waiting on something before you can move on.Allowing some more optional meta-data fields like this that can be shown/hidden and sorted-by would be quite awesome.

  5. I want a fully dedicated tasks app as well as the existing integration. Repeating Tasks are needed, and an android app. Right now I use RememberTheMilk, but would switch if they improved these things.

  6. I want a fully dedicated tasks app as well as the existing integration. Repeating Tasks are needed, and an android app. Right now I use RememberTheMilk, but would switch if they improved these things.

  7. Great Ideas, to that I add:
    3) Flags, tags and filters,
    Being able to categorize in to groups is great but I see a need to create a subgroup of related tasks from several groups by using a flag and/or tag. and to sort by tags and flags, etc.
    4) Reoccurring tasks,
    there are some tasks I repeat on a schedule once I have completed the task I want to automatically have a new task created according to the schedule.

    These are both features of outlook’s tasks, which leads me to:
    5) sync with outlook tasks.

    1. Great ideas, Walt. The tags would let you organize things that may be related by subject, but not by time or importance. It would also allow you to organize things by project, assigner, subject, etc. After a day or two my task list gets VERY messy, and its hard to filter out the clutter and get back to “what is the NEXT thing I need to do for __(insert project)__ right now?”

      Now that you mention it, I would like a RANKING field, something I can put numbers/letters or whatever I like into it, and then sort the list by that field. This helps me know what to do NEXT when something is done.

      Also, I know this is crazy, but being able to “half-check” something to signify that it’s in-progress would be cool. In the Franklin Covey world, this is “dotting” your checkbox to say it’s not done, but you’re waiting on something before you can move on.

      Allowing some more optional meta-data fields like this that can be shown/hidden and sorted-by would be quite awesome.

  8. I want a fully dedicated tasks app as well as the existing integration. Repeating Tasks are needed, and an android app.

    Right now I use RememberTheMilk, but would switch if they improved these things.

  9. You might check out http://www.gqueues.com if you like tasks integrated with all the Google products, but feel like Google Tasks is still missing a lot of features. GQueues works with your existing Google Account and supports task sharing/collaboration, recurring tasks and SMS reminders. Plus new features are added all the time it seems.

  10. You might check out http://www.gqueues.com if you like tasks integrated with all the Google products, but feel like Google Tasks is still missing a lot of features. GQueues works with your existing Google Account and supports task sharing/collaboration, recurring tasks and SMS reminders. Plus new features are added all the time it seems.

  11. You might check out http://www.gqueues.com if you like tasks integrated with all the Google products, but feel like Google Tasks is still missing a lot of features. GQueues works with your existing Google Account and supports task sharing/collaboration, recurring tasks and SMS reminders. Plus new features are added all the time it seems.

Leave a Reply

