Problems With Blackberry 8830 Verizon Edition

Silver Blackberry 8830 from VerizonI have an 8830 “world edition” blackberry smartphone from Verizon wireless and I have to note a few things I wish could be improved.

* There’s a GPS built into the device, but VZ disabled it so you can’t use it because Verizon wants you to pay an extra $20/month for their Navigation service. That stinks.

* The 8830 seems to have a severe memory management problem, dumping txts and email, phone and call logs without warning, a few times a week.

* Having no camera is bad enough, but not able to receive Picture messages without using the web browser is kinda dumb.

* Other devices allow YouTube and streaming video/audio but not so on the 8830, presumably so you’ll sign up for “vCast”.

* More of an “I wish” for Verizon itself, the fact that I can’t use just the data plan (or the phone+texting without data plan is pretty ludicrous. Its just money, after all, but while going with Verizon may mean great cellular service (reception) it also means a hefty bite from your wallet each month.

Hopefully, Verizon won’t leave 8830 users behind as they roll out software for the Pearl, Storm and other new Blackberries.

Update: It does appear I am not the only one reporting problems with the 8830.

2 thoughts on “Problems With Blackberry 8830 Verizon Edition

  1. I was downloading a recent upgrade to the softwear on my BB and it is frozen at 71% download. I can not stop or resume the download. It is frozedn and will not do anything. I have an ICON on desktop for the download but it does nothing to complete the download. I tried shutting the phone off, hoping it would detlete the download request but that had no impact. What can be done to either:ressument he download or cancell it and remove the icon from my screen

  2. I was downloading a recent upgrade to the softwear on my BB and it is frozen at 71% download. I can not stop or resume the download. It is frozedn and will not do anything. I have an ICON on desktop for the download but it does nothing to complete the download. I tried shutting the phone off, hoping it would detlete the download request but that had no impact. What can be done to either:
    ressument he download or
    cancell it and remove the icon from my screen

Leave a Reply

