People with Third Graders are Old

Waving to the princesses on a float at the 4th of July Parade in Provo, Utah
Waving to the princesses on a float at the 4th of July Parade in Provo, Utah

Today is Back to School day for my kids… and the first day of summer vacation for their parents.

This morning, I had this conversation with my new third grader:

Me: Wow, you’re in third grade now, huh.

Third Grader: Actually, I’ve been in third grade since June. You’re in the next grade after the last day of school, you know.

Me: Hmmm. Well, I was just remembering I used to think that people with third graders are OLD… but I’m not old, am I?

Third Grader: (thinking) Well… you are, um… kinda old… but you’re still kinda fun sometimes.

Me: Aren’t you late for school?

Leave a Reply

